Executive Committee

Abdalla Hussain Al-Shamsi
Daniel Holloway
Communication Chair
  • Petroleum Geologist in the Middle East team at CGG Robertson
  • Three years of experience in basin modeling, petroleum systems analysis, source rock characterisation studies and unconventional exploration
  • BSc Geology and MSc Petroleum Geoscience from Imperial College London
  • Social Media: @RFCdan
Jorge Salgado Gomes
Vice President/Treasurer/Sponsorship Secretary
  • 30+ years industry + academic experience.
  • Worked for EDMA, BP Minerals, HOT Engineering AG, PARTEX Oil & Gas, QP, ADCO, Khalifa University (former Petroleum Institute).
  • Currently Head of GeoSciences (ADNOC Group)
  • BSc, MSc in Geology from Oporto University (Portugal) & MEng & PhD in Petroleum Engineering from Heriot-Watt University, UK
Henry Ewart Edwards
Fieldtrip Secretary
Christoph Lehmann
Fieldtrip Secretary
  • Carbonate Geology Expert in Subsurface Technology BU in ADMA
  • ADMA, seconded from BP. Previously Rumaila Field, Iraq. Wide experience in Exploration and Carbonate Field Development
  • PhD in Carbonate Sedimentology and Sequence Stratigraphy from University of California
Lian Hou
Membership Secretary
Muhammad Asim Iqbal
IT Secretary
  • 12+ years industry and academic experience.
  • Worked for King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), CosmoSeis Petroleum Services.
  • Currently Working in Khalifa University UAE (former Petroleum Institute).
  • MSc in Geophysics from Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad
Hesham Shebl
Board Member of the Society
  • More than 30 years of oil field experience in sedimentology, petrography and reservoir characterization related activities. In addition to around 8 years’ academic experience with King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals, Dhahran and United Arab Emirates Universities. He is a member of AAPG, SPE, and SCA.
  • Employed by Core Laboratories, ADNOC Offshore (ZADCO).
  • Currently in ADNOC Upstream.
  • B.Sc. degree from Ain Shames University, Cairo, in 1980 and a M.Sc. from King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Dhahran, 1989.
David Brown
Board Member of the Society  
Rhona Ayyoub
Board Member of the Society
Matthieu Deville de Periere
Board Member of the Society